Originally known as Forks-of-Little-Pigeon, Sevierville began as a 29 acre farm tract. The town took its name from famous pioneer and
Tennessee's first governor John Sevier and in 1795, Sevierville was named county seat. 101 years later, its graceful courthouse was completed at a cost of $21,697 and is still one of the county's
most easily recognized architectural structures. The original Seth Thomas clock continues to ring out the time on the half hour. Sevierville has become the gateway to more than 650 miles of trails
and breathtaking scenery in the Smoky Mountains. Sevierville has become one of the fastest growing entertainment showplaces in the Southeast, not to mention our shopping opportunities and our
attractions and sports. Sevierville boasts that they are "Where Smoky Mountain Fun Begins!"